Lloyd C. Douglas

Lloyd C. DouglasLloyd C. Douglas was the 12th Senior Minister at The First Congregational Church of Akron. He served from 1921 to 1926 before moving to Los Angeles. While in Akron, Lloyd C. Douglas was described as the city’s most important citizen and innovator.

Lloyd C. Douglas wrote 18 books of which his two most famous were Magnificent Obsession and The Robe. They were also made into motion pictures.


1921 Wanted – A Congregation

1925 The Minister’s Everyday Life

1926 These Sayings of Mine

1927 Those Disturbing Miracles

1929 Magnificent Obsession*

1932 Forgive Us our Trespasses

1933 Precious Jeopardy

1934 Green Light*

1935 Home For Christmas

1936 White Banners*

1939 Disputed Passage*

1939 Dr. Hudson’s Secret Journal +

1940 Invitation to Live

1942 The Robe*

1948 The Big Fisherman*

1951 Time to Remember #

1952 The Shape of Sunday – Virginia Douglas

Dawson and Betty Douglas Wilson memories of life with their parents.

1955 The Living Faith – collection of

Douglas’s sermons, edited by his daughters.

* Movies
+ TV Show
# Autobiography